Angel Olsen - Aisles Ep 12"

Angel Olsen - Aisles Ep 12"

Regular price $31.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Angel Olsen presents the Aisles EP, comprised of head turning covers of ‘80s classics and the debut release on her new Jagjaguwar imprint somethingscosmic. The EP features ambitious takes on five covers, including “Gloria” (Laura Branigan), plus “Eyes Without A Face” (Billy Idol), “Safety Dance” (Men Without Hats), “If You Leave” (Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark) and “Forever Young” (Alphaville). 

The Aisles EP was recorded in the winter of 2020 at Asheville’s Drop of Sun Studios with co-producer and engineer Adam McDaniel. Olsen had known McDaniel for years and became better acquainted while trying to conquer the audio of live-stream at-home performances last spring. McDaniel and his wife Emily opened their home to Olsen throughout the previous summer and made it a safe space to create and let go before beginning tracking. “I told Adam I had an idea to record some covers and bring some of the band into the mix or add other players. I needed to laugh and have fun and be a little less serious about the recording process in general,” says Olsen. “I thought about completely changing some of the songs and turning them inside out. I’d come over to find Adam had set up five or so synthesizers, and we’d get lost on a part for a while messing with some obscure pedal, I knew nothing about. We’d spend a good amount of time going through sounds before finding one or two, sometimes we’d get real weird and decide to just go with it.” 


  1. Gloria
  2. Eyes Without A Face
  3. Safety Dance
  4. If You Leave
  5. Forever Young
Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions