Bardo Pond Amanita (25th Anniversary Edition) 2LP Matador

Regular price $72.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Formed in 1991, the Philadelphia-based quintet have spent some thirty years mapping guitar music’s outer limits ­– dialing into extremes of noise, chaos, and harmony in free-form compositions that now unfurl across 12 full-length records and a near-limitless body of EPs, cassettes, and CD-Rs Recorded by the lineup of John Gibbons (guitar), Michael Gibbons (guitar), Isobel Sollenberger (voice, flute), Clint Takeda (bass), and Joe Culver (drums), Amanita is the place where the band’s spontaneous collective creativity blazed into maturity.

Amanita was a manifesto of everything we were trying to do,” says Michael Gibbons. It was really a template for everything we did later. We were a real unit – just so creative, just making up riffs. There were songs, but they were still rooted in our free-improv base. We had a beauty, but we also had a really strong impulse to be dissonant.”


  1. Limerick
  2. Sentence
  3. Tantric Porno
  4. Wank
  5. The High Frequency
  6. Sometimes Words
  7. Clean Sweep 
  8. Yellow Turban
  9. Rumination
  10. Be A Fish
  11. Tapir Song
  12. Brambles 
  13. RM
Source Album