Bria Cuntry Covers Vol 1 Sub Pop

Bria Cuntry Covers Vol 1 Sub Pop

Regular price $49.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Bria is an intimate and incisive labour of love from multi-instrumentalists Bria Salmena and Duncan Hay Jennings. Catapulted by a deep sense of dread and confusion in the depths of 2020, Salmena decided to forgo writing her own music. “I wanted to listen for what might reflect my life back to me,” she says, “six tracks that could be my mirror.” The result is a pointillistic knockout of an EP that weaves a landscape both luscious and a little rogue; showing us exactly what good songs can do.

Bria’s internal turbulence seemed to mirror last year’s external instability. When Jennings and back-up singer Jaime McCuaig moved to The Outside Inn, a hobby farm in Hockley Hills, Ontario, Bria soon joined. The farm’s living-room-turned-studio proved an ideal setting for the long-time friends to compile a record of handpicked country covers. They went searching for songs that could speak to our everyday loneliness, outside and in. Cuntry Covers Vol. 1. houses it all: well-worn favourites and lesser-known gems.


  1. Green Rocky Road (Karen Dalton)
  2. Dreaming My Dreams With You (Waylon Jennings) 
  3. Buffalo Ballet (John Cale) 
  4. Fruits of My Labour (Lucinda Williams) 
  5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore (The Walker Brothers)
  6. I Don’t Wanna Love Ya Now (Mistress Mary)
Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions