Brian Crook With the Renderers - This World Just Eats Me Up Alive

Brian Crook With the Renderers - This World Just Eats Me Up Alive

Regular price $58.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

This album has been a slow build over the past eight years, and it is Brian’s first solo release in close to twenty years. The years in between have included a move to the other side of the world (Christchurch to Joshua Tree), and the loss of his brother, who was close in age. This World Just Eats Me Up Alive confronts these topics within Brian’s maelstroms of noise, with his scratchy vocals conveying stories of protagonists living in the gutters of society. It’s a shockingly honest release, featuring recording sessions done with both The Renderers and The Terminals, unifying in a satisfying and poetic display.

Blending stark emotion with surrealist narratives, the lyrics open windows into a psychic gloaming: this is Brian. Add a fevered nod to Joyce Carol Oates and you’re there. Brian’s record is a gem of rough beauty, and any fans of releases by Xpressway and Siltbreeze will feel warmly at home in the chaos.


  1. Black Mariah 
  2. Dragged Both Ways 
  3. This World (Just Eats Me Up Alive) 
  4. The Smoking Singularity
  5. Poisoning The Well
  6. Sissyphus
  7. Joyce Carol Oates 
Source Album