Clipping - Visions Of Bodies Being Burned

Clipping - Visions Of Bodies Being Burned

Regular price $76.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Last Halloween, Los Angeles experimental rap mainstays clipping. ended their three-year silence with the horrorcore-inspired album There Existed an Addiction to Blood. This October, rapper Daveed Diggs, and producers Jonathan Snipes and William Hutson return with an even higher body count, more elaborate kills, and monsters that just won’t stay dead.

Visions of Bodies Being Burned is less a sequel than it is the second half of a planned diptych. It turns out, clipping. took to the thematic material of horrorcore like vampires to grave soil. Before the release of There Existed an Addiction to Blood, clipping. and Sub Pop Records divided the material up into two albums, designed to be released only months apart. However, a global pandemic and multiple cancelled tours pushed the release of the project’s “part two” until the following Halloween season.

Visions of Bodies Being Burned contains sixteen more scary stories disguised as rap songs, incorporating as much influence from Ernest Dickerson, Clive Barker, and Shirley Jackson as it does from Three 6 Mafia, Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, and Brotha Lynch Hung. clipping.’s angular, shattered interpretations of existing musical styles are always deferential, driven by fandom for the object of study rather than disdain for it. clipping. reimagine horrorcore—the purposely absurdist hip-hop subgenre that flourished in the 1990s—the way Jordan Peele does horror cinema: by twisting beloved tropes to make explicit their own radical politics of monstrosity, fear, and the uncanny.

The album features a host of collaborators: Inglewood’s Cam & China, fellow noise-rap pioneers Ho99o9, Tortoise guitar genius Jeff Parker, and experimental LA drummer Ted Byrnes. The final track, “Secret Piece,” is a performance of a Yoko Ono text score from 1953 that instructs the players to “Decide on one note that you want to play/Play it with the following accompaniment: the woods from 5am to 8am in summer,” and features nearly all of the musicians who appeared on both albums.

Track List:

  1. Intro
  2. Say the Name
  3. Wytchboard (Interlude)*
  4. '96 Neve Campbell (feat. Cam & China)
  5. Something Underneath
  6. Make Them Dead
  7. She Bad
  8. Invocation (Interlude) (with Greg Stuart)*
  9. Pain Everyday (with Michael Esposito)
  10. Check the Lock
  11. Looking Like Meat (feat. Ho99o9)
  12. Drove (Interlude)*
  13. Eaten Alive (with Jeff Parker & Ted Byrnes)
  14. Body for the Pile (with Sickness)
  15. Enlacing
  16. Secret Piece
Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions