Dexter Gordon - Daddy Plays the Horn

Dexter Gordon - Daddy Plays the Horn

Regular price $48.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Reissue of the 1955 classic featuring “Confirmation,” “Autumn In New York” & “You Can Depend On Me”.

Dexter Gordon wasn’t quite THE Dexter Gordon when he made Daddy Plays The Horn, but his unique, obtuse way of playing the saxophone and hitting his rhythm section’s playing at weird, swinging angles was already fully formed for this album.Recorded in between periods of tumult and distress (he was in and out of jail with a bear of a heroin addiction), Gordon is one of the finest men to ever put a reed in his mouth. This album, particularly “Autumn in New York”, belongs in every discerning Jazzbo’s collection.


  1. Daddy Plays The Horn (2012 Remastered Version
  2. Confirmation (2012 Remastered Version) Darn That Dream (2012 Remastered Version)
  3. Number Four (2012 Remastered Version)
  4. Autumn In New York (2012 Remastered Version)
  5. You Can Depend On Me (2012 Remastered Version)
Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions