El Michels Affair Meets Liam Bailey - Ekundayo Inversions

Regular price $51.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

There has always been a Reggae influence in the music of El Michels Affair. From their cover of Hung Up On My Baby done in a Reggae style, to the general sound and approach that permeates Leon’s production style. While recording Bailey’s 2020 Ekundayo album, they did some straightforward reggae tunes inspired by different eras alongside some modern R&B tracks that would fit more comfortably next to Frank Ocean than Jacob Miller. It is this same notion that old and new can live so comfortably together that birthed the idea of Ekundayo Inversions.

One of the highlights on Ekundayo Inversions is a guest appearance from the legendary Lee “Scratch” Perry on the Ugly Truth version. L$P switches between singing and talking, proclaiming his powers one minute and playing with the track’s title the next. On Awkward (Take 2) Leon takes one of the most experimental songs from Ekundayo and actually straightens it out. A track that once seemed to be floating in space has now been anchored by the addition of drums and bass. Faded, a version of Paper Tiger, is given the full EMA treatment with the addition of emotive horns over an uncomfortably sparse rhythm track peppered with Liam’s voice drenched in delay and echo. Champions features a verse from Black Thought of The Roots and halfway through, El Michels sends the rhythm section 50 years back.

At the end of the day, Ekundayo Inversions is a testament to how strong the original songs are. Whether they’re in a R&B style, reggae style, stripped down to their bare bones, or loaded with production, the songs will move you.


1. Conquer And Divide feat. Black Thought
2. Amazing Woman
3. Angel Face
4. Walk With Me
5. No One Else
6. King
7. Ugly Truths feat. Lee 'Scratch' Perry
8. I Love NY
9. Superstar
10. Awkward (Take 2)
11. Lucky Man
12. Faded
Source Album