Elroy - Elroy

Elroy - Elroy

Regular price $47.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

After years of touring and collaborating as a drummer and multi-instrumentalist in various groups (Wild NothingConnan Mockasin), as well as with his family (extensive worldwide touring with his brother, Liam Finn and as part of Crowded House with his father, Neil Finn), Elroy Finn (going simply by Elroy) releases his debut self-titled album on vinyl.

Elroy was written, produced, recorded, and mixed by Elroy himself.

New Zealand’s Sunday Star Times describes the album as “acquiring layers of sounds and textures and falsetto vocal harmonies” that “gradually transforms into a sturdy wee slab of lo-fi psychedelia.”

The paper goes on to highlight the single Worth The Wait, describing Elroy’s performance as “a tentative romantic assessing a new relationship, his voice sweet and airy, like a Brazilian bossa nova singer parachuted into the middle of an indie pop song.”

Elroy says the tune is only a “non-specific, ambiguous love song,” which feels like he is speaking from a place of humility that could only be developed by growing up surrounded by legendary song writing talent.

Similarly, New Zealand’s Listener Magazine, calling the record “bold and assured,” recognizes Elroy’s modesty, saying he “has done well to avoid the pitfalls of emulation or rebellion.” With this record, he takes “the tropes of the catchy, melodic music he was raised around and deliberately drapes them in a shimmering, beguiling gauze.”

Elroy arrives on the Grand Phony label, preceded by the singles Excite Me MuchLife Is At Home, and Worth The Wait.


Side A
1. The Whole Thing
2. Worth The Wait
3. Lost Our Mystery
4. The Highest Tree
5. Frogs
Side B
1.  Excite Me Much
2. Life Is At Home
3. Way Down Above Below
4. Doesn't It Bother You
5. Bye For Now

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions