Fly My Pretties - String Theory

Fly My Pretties - String Theory

Regular price $51.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Recorded live at Auckland’s Mercury Theatre and Wellington’s Paramount Theatre across nine sold-out shows, String Theory examines who we are, and our place in the universe through musical storytelling.

String Theory represents an expansion on the traditional Fly My Pretties sound. While the folk and singer-songwriter elements remain, the concept opened the door for a new range of sounds – spacey vocals and pulsating synths – again brought to life by a cast which features some of NZ’s most talented musicians.

The String Theory cast represents a mix of longstanding Fly My Pretties members, with some of the country’s brightest talents - including: A Girl Named Mo, Bailey Wiley, Ills Winter, Miloux, Ria Hall, James Coyle, Jarney Murphy, Iraia Whakamoe, Laughton Kora, Mike Fabulous, Nigel Patterson, Ryan Prebble, Tiki Taane, and of course Barnaby Weir.

Early demos of the songs were presented for the first time in a group writing day at Wellington’s Surgery Studio, just over a month out from the shows. 18 new songs were then refined and polished across four days at Auckland’s Lot23, and performed 4 times in Auckland, and 5 times in Wellington. The album presents the best takes from 9 shows, and some truly special moments of collaborative magic.

Each track on the album is accompanied by a video. The visual show was a living, breathing organism, with a server brain linked directly to each strain of music. The result was completely unique each night, and each video captures these uniquely stunning visuals.

String Theory represents the next step in the journey of FMP, and shows an act which is still as innovative as they were at their inception.

Fly My Pretties – String Theory (The Complete Show)

  1. Get It Together (by Ryan Prebble) 
  2. Still (by Miloux) 
  3. Play Your Part (by Bailey Wiley) 
  4. Hearts (by BaileyWiley) 
  5. Closer (by A Girl Named Mo) 
  6. Mud & Stardust (by A Girl Named Mo) 
  7. The Watchman (by Barnaby Weir) 
  8. Soul’d (by Barnaby Weir) 
  9. Watch Over Me (by Ria Hall) 
  10. Every Mystery (by Ills Winter)
  11. For Sam (by Miloux)
  12. Something To Hold (by Ryan Prebble)
  13. Forever (by Ria Hall)
  14. This Life (by Tiki Taane)
  15. Anomaly (by Ills Winter)
  16. Walking On (by Laughton Kora)
  17. Harry Potato (by Laughton Kora)
  18. Black Hole (by Tiki Taane)
Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions