Folk Devils - Beautiful Monsters

Folk Devils - Beautiful Monsters

Regular price $56.40
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The complete Folk Devils singles collection plus bonus unreleased demo recordings!

Named after Stanley Cohen’s book on youth subcultures “Folk Devils and Moral Panics”, this highly underrated British band was as far as one could get from ‘folk music’ at the time. They were formed by Co. Durham native Ian Lowery (formerly of The Wall and Ski Patrol) in late 1983 with a line up that consisted of Whiteley (Bass), Kris Jozajtis (Guitar) and Alan Cole (Drums).

These newly digitally re-mastered recordings have been painstakingly restored from the original master tapes, which had spent 30 years languishing in Nick Jones’ archives. Never before released on CD, the re-mastered sound captures the ragged fury and adrenalized energy that uniquely characterized the Folk Devils oeuvre. Also included here are eight demo recordings that feature some of their best unreleased material, both musically and lyrically.

Track Listing:

  1. Hank Turns Blue
  2. Chewing The Flesh
  3. Beautiful Monster
  4. Art Ghetto
  5. Brian Jones’ Bastard Son
  6. Nice People
  7. English Disease
  8. Where The Buffalo Roam
  9. Wail
  10. Evil Eye
  11. Illiterati
  12. Tight Sleep
  13. Broken Head
  14. Albino
  15. Nicotine Tan
  16. It Drags On
  17. Belly Up
  18. Happy Face
Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions