Hailu Mergia - Yene Mircha

Hailu Mergia - Yene Mircha

Regular price $47.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

It's been a long, winding road to Hailu Mergia's sixth decade of musical activity. From a young musician in the 60s starting out in Addis Ababa to the 70s golden age of dance bands to the new hope as an emigre in America to the drier period of the 90s and 2000s when he mainly played keyboard in his taxi while waiting in the airport queue or at home with friends. More recently, with the reissue of his classic works and a re-assessment of his role in Ethiopian music history, Mergia has played to audiences big and small in some of the most cherished venues around the world. With his 2018 critical breakthrough Lala BeluMergia consolidated his legacy, producing the album on his own and connecting with listeners through his vision of modern Ethiopian music.

Mergia's new album Yene Mircha ("My Choice" in Amharic) encapsulates many of the things that make the keyboardist, accordionist and composer-arranger remarkable—elements that have persisted to maintain his vitality all these years, through the ebb and flow of his career. The rock solid trio with whom he has toured the world most recently, DC-based Alemseged Kebede (bass) and Ken Joseph (drums), forms the nucleus around which an expanded band makes a potent response to the contemporary jazz future Lala Belu promised. Yene Mircha calcifies Mergia's prolific stream of creativity and his philosophy that there is a multitude of Ethiopian musical approaches, not just one sound.


1. Semen Ena Debub
2. Yene Mircha
3. Bayne Lay Yihedal
4. Abichu Nega Nega
5. Yene Abeba
6. Shemendefer

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions