Johnny Clarke - Don't Stay Out Late

Johnny Clarke - Don't Stay Out Late

Regular price $41.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Johnny Clarke stands tall as one of the great vocalists that ruled the Jamaican reggae scene from the mid 1970’s to the early 1980’s Dancehall period. This re-issue of his Don’t Stay Out Late set shows his versatility to sing any song that was put in front of him and make it his own. Under producer Bunny “Striker” Lee’s guidance, Mr Clarke produced a run of singles and albums few could match. Johnny Clarke (b 1955, Jamaica, West Indies) cut his first record God Made the See and Sun, after winning a local singing contest in the Bull Bay area of Jamaica. Although the single was not a hit, it led to two follow up tracks for producer Rupie Edwards, Everyday Wandering and Julie that fared much better, both on the island and overseas in England and Canada. These tracks also brought the singer to the attention of producer Bunny Lee and a working relationship that would go on to produce a prolific catalogue of music. Johnny Clarke’s Dread Conscious / Love Song style were to grace many hits around this time in 1974. Such tunes as None Shall Escape The Judgement, Move Out Of Babylon, Rock With Me Baby, Enter The Gates With Praise to name but a few. All new songs added to a host of cover tunes, recommended by Bunny Lee, many taken from singer John Holt’s catalogue, that suited Clarke’s vocal style. The rhythms were cut at various studios around the Island. Randy’s Studio 17, Channel I, Treasure Isle, Dynamic Sounds and Harry J’s by a group of musicians loosely called The Aggravators and voiced King Tubby’s studio. All great tracks backed by great rhythms, cut by Mr Johnny Clarke with a voice that few could equal.


A1 Don't Stay Out Late
A2 Memories By The Score
A3 Judgement Day
A4 Let Him Try
A5 Why Can't I Touch You
B1 Keep On Moving
B2 Happy Go Lucky Girl
B3 Blood Dunza
B4 They Can't Conquer I And I
B5 You Can't Be Happy

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions