M. Ward - Think Of Spring

M. Ward - Think Of Spring

Regular price $50.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

M. Ward’s Think of Spring is a collection of songs originally recorded by Billie Holiday.

Ward achieved the intimate sound of this record by filtering the original songs and strings through a single acoustic guitar, using various alternate tunings and a minimal amount of textures and studio manipulation. Most of the songs were recorded on an analogue Tascam four track. The title Think of Spring comes from a poem written in 1924 by Jane Brown-Thompson that eventually became I Get Along Without You Very Well in 1938 – the first song on the record. Proceeds from Think of Spring will benefit Inner-City Arts & DonorsChoose via PLUS1 for Black Lives Fund.

“I first heard [Billie’s album] Lady In Satin in a mega-shopping mall somewhere in San Francisco,” M. Ward explained. “I was about 20 years old and didn’t know much about Billie’s records or her life or how her voice changed over the years. Anyway, the sound was coming from the other side of the mall and I remember mistaking her voice for a beautiful perfectly distorted electric guitar – some other-world thing floating there on this strange mournful ocean of strings and I was hooked for life.”


01. I Get Along Without You Very Well
02. For Heavens Sake
03. Easy To Remember
04. You’ve Changed
05. Violets For Your Furs
06. For All We Know
07. But Beautiful
08. All The Way
09. I’m A Fool To Want You
10. I’ll Be Around
11. You Don’t Know What Love Is

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions