Mavis Staples - Livin' On A High Note

Mavis Staples - Livin' On A High Note

Regular price $47.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Mavis Staples is an alchemist of American music, and has continuously crossed genre lines like no musician since Ray Charles. Weaving herself into the very fabric of gospel, soul, folk, pop, R&B, blues, rock, and even hip hop over the better part of the last 60 years, the iconic singer has seen and sung through so many changes, always rising up to meet every road unwaveringly.

With the release of her new album Livin' On A High Note, she continues to gain momentum. Referencing and drawing from her past while taking the music to fresh places, Mavis and her team recruited a unique dozen of today's heralded and up-and-coming artists to write songs for the record. The names gathered here impress and excite: Neko CaseJustin Vernon (Bon Iver), Nick Cave, Ben HarperTune-YardsAloe BlaccBenjamin BookerSon Little, and M. Ward-with Ward also tapped to produce the album in full.


1. Take Us Back
2. Love And Trust
3. If It's A Light
4. Action
5. High Note
6. Don't Cry
7. Tomorrow
8. Dedicated
9. History Now
10. One Love
11. Jesus Lay Down Beside Me
12. MLK Song

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions