Miles Davis - Live Evil Vinyl

Regular price $56.40
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Miles Davis’ performance at Jazz a Vienne on July 1, 1991, became one of his final live performances before he passed away on September 28, 1991, and this previously unreleased set includes two songs written by PrincePenetration and Jailbait. The package features liner notes from music historian, journalist, and producer Ashley Kahn, with art designed by Bruno Tilley.

By 1991, the world’s most celebrated trumpeter could look back on five decades of musical evolution – his own, and that of the world around him. Miles Davis had found ways of marrying jazz with classical ideas, then later R&B, rock, and funk, producing hybrid offspring that shaped the course of popular music and had come to define his legend. In 1985, he’d left Columbia after thirty years to sign to Warner Bros. Records, a label riding high with best-selling artists like MadonnaVan Halen, and Prince, with whom he had a mutual admiration and friendship.

Miles Davis’s lifelong love for France is well-documented, and in July 1991, he became a Knight of their Legion of Honour. Davis received the award from French culture minister Jack Lang, who described him as: "The Picasso of jazz." A few days before, he played this electrifying set at the Vienne Jazz Festival with the Miles Davis Group.



1. Hannibal
2. Jailbait

1. Time After Time
2. Wrinkle

1. Human Nature

1. Penetration
2. Amandla
3. Finalex

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions