Orlando Weeks - A Quickening

Orlando Weeks - A Quickening

Regular price $62.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

A Quickening is about love and fear, about anticipating what is to come, and about digging up deep connections from the past. Drums trip, woodwind and brass can be heard, piano lines run in and out, vocals layer and guitars are few and far between. This is not the indie rock and roll that some may have predicted.

You might think of Talk Talk. You might think of Robert Wyatt. You might think of Radiohead or Bon Iver. You might think of the wonder of Kate Bush. You might think of Lambchop’s late career electronic turn, replacing in that case Kurt Wagner’s Nashville-inflected fragments with Orlando’s chiming and pure delivery, served up by way of South London. His voice shimmers above the instruments and the electronics, reflecting in its quality what is in the lyrics: feelings of love, fear and wonder that are overwhelming but still delicate.


1. Milk Breath
2. Blood Sugar
3. Safe In Sound
4. St. Thomas’
5. Takes A Village
6. Moon’s Opera
7. All The Things
8. Blame Or Love Or Nothing
9. None Too Tough
10. Summer Clothes
11. Dream

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions