Sarah Davachi - Antiphonals

Sarah Davachi - Antiphonals

Regular price $49.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

For the best part of a decade, Sarah Davachi has been pursuing electroacoustic experiments that have been breathing new life into the genres of ambient, drone and minimalism. By employing an array of both ancient and modern instruments, the prolific Canadian composer can summon soundscapes that can be haunting, meditative, and unusual – often all at once.

After studying piano into her late teenage years, Davachi developed an approach to composition that continues to shape the medieval mournful drones of her new studio album, Antiphonals.

Davachi is effortlessly able to take the listener swimming through feelings of hope, introspection, and mourning. The instrumental mastery of Davachi is undeniable, but it is her ability to evoke these deep feelings that makes her work memorable.

Antiphonals was borne of a desire to merge my studio practice with the tonal characteristics and sound-on-sound tape delay processes that have informed my approach to live performance for many years, Davachi says.


1. Chorus Scene
2. Magdalena
3. First Cadence
4. Gradual of Image
5. Border of Mind
6. Abeyant
7. Rushes Recede
8. Doubled Flutes

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions