Smith, Lonnie Liston - Expansions

Smith, Lonnie Liston - Expansions

Regular price $51.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Lonnie’s 1975 jazz-funk masterpiece. Former Miles Davis and Pharoah Sanders keyboardist Lonnie Liston Smith saw all his musical ideas coming together for this, his third album. The title track is one of the best-known jazz funk classics; its influence on several generations of clubbers cannot be underestimated. It is a glorious amalgamation of jazz players and the tenor voice of Lonnie’s brother Donald. However, the track’s success has resulted in the album becoming rather overlooked and its other six pieces underappreciated. Desert Nights and Voodoo Woman give vent to Lonnie’s improvisational skills over a modal base. Summer Days and My Love are based around Latin rhythms, with the latter proving another great vehicle for Donald Smith’s voice. Donald is also the singer on an inspired take on Horace Silver’s Peace.


1 Expansions
2 Desert Nights
3 Summer Days
4 Voodoo Woman
5 Peace
6 Shadows
7 My Love

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions