Stax Gold

Stax Gold

Regular price $40.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Import LP Pressing. Know to record collectors as the "Yellow" Stax period because of the colour of the record labels, the second main phase of Stax / Volt recordings spanned the period from mid-1968 until the beginning of 1975. It was even more successful than the earlier "Blue" period, and resulted in chart entries on both sides of the Atlantic for a number of artists and in distinctive, constrasting styles. This compilation covers the best from that period, the time when Stax / Volt had terminated it's relationship with Atlantic Records, it's discs were being distributed through the Paramount film company and the famous finger-clicking logo adorned the Stax output of the Memphis-based label. Several of the tracks here topped the US R & B chart including Johnnie Taylor's million-seller 'Who's Making Love', Rufus Thomas's 'Do The Push And Pull', Jean Knight's 'Mr Big Stuff', The Staple Singers' 'If You're Ready (Come Go With Me)' (also a million-seller) and Shirley Brown's 'Woman To Woman'. Among numbers that have been very popular in the UK are the deeply soulful duet from Judy Clay & William Bell - 'Private Number' and a couple of tracks from Booker T & The MGs, 'Soul Limbo', familiar to all criket fans, and 'Time Is Tight' which featured in the movie "Uptight". Artists from the Stax stable featured on the sound-tracks of a number of the black movies of the late 60s/early 70s, and Isaac Hayes' half-spoken, half-sung title track from 'Shaft' was probably the most notable of all. Also featured in this collection are some of the top hits from Stax / Volt's major artists such as Eddie Floyd, William Bell, Carla Thomas and the Bar-Kays as well as tracks from acts which tasted success for the first time during the finger-clicking period - the Dramatics, Frederick Knight and the Soul Children. Ace Records. 1991.

Track Listings
1 Soul Limbo - Booker T & the MG's
2 Time Is Tight - Booker T & the MG's
3 Private Number - Clay, Judy & William Bell
4 Who's Making Love - Taylor, Johnnie (1)
5 Bring It on Home to Me - Floyd, Eddie
6 I Forgot to Be Your Lover - Bell, William
7 I Like What You're Doing (To Me) - Thomas, Carla
8 Do the Push and Pull - Thomas, Rufus
9 Mr Big Stuff - Knight, Jean
10 What'cha See Is What'cha Get - Dramatics (1)
11 Respect Yourself - Staple Singers
12 I'll Take You There - Staple Singers
13 Shaft - Hayes, Isaac
14 Son of Shaft - Bar-Kays
15 I've Been Lonely for So Long - Knight, Frederick
16 Starting All Over Again - Mel & Tim
17 Woman to Woman - Brown, Shirley
18 I'll Be the Other Woman - Soul Children
19 So I Can Love You - Emotions (2)
20 I Have Learned to Do Without You - Staples, Mavis
21 In the Rain - Dramatics (1)
22 Dedicated to the One I Love - Temprees
23 Short Stopping - Brown, Veda
24 Cheaper to Keep Her - Taylor, Johnnie (1)

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions