Stereolab - Transient Random-noise Bursts

Stereolab - Transient Random-noise Bursts

Regular price $63.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Stereolab's 7 album reissue campaign begins with 1993's Transient Random Noise-Bursts With Announcements reissued, via Warp Records and Duophonic UHF Disks, as expanded and re-mastered editions. Each album has been re-mastered from the original 1/2" tapes by Bo Kondren at Calyx Mastering and overseen by Tim Gane. Bonus material includes alternate takes, 4 track demos and unreleased mixes.

The recording is among Stereolab's most groove-oriented efforts. There are experiments like the French-pop-flavoured Pack Yr Romantic Mind, but it's mostly a lovely, loud, decadent '90s rock record. The song titles reference obscure equipment, the sounds are made with arcane instruments, the repetitive guitar work is directly lifted from Michael Rother, and the cover image pledges devotion to vinyl (the musical obscurantist's medium of choice), but somehow the band never comes off as snobbish. Stereolab's music would not only spawn dozens of imitators, but the very stuff they drew inspiration from Esquivel and Os Mutantes was suddenly the starting point for any self-respecting hipster's record collection. More important, it totally rocks (Our Trinitone Blast) while beaming sunny vibes (Jenny Ondioline).

LP Tracklisting

A1 Tone Burst 
A2 Our Trinitone Blast 
A3 Pack Yr Romantic Mind
B4 I'm Going Out Of My Way
B5 Golden Ball 
B6 Pause 
C7 Jenny Ondioline
D8 Analogue Rock 
D9 Crest 6
D10 Lock-Groove Lullaby
E1 Fragments
E2 Jenny Ondioline (7"/EP Version - Alternative Mix)
E3 Drum - Backwards Bass - Organ [Jenny Ondioline Breakdown Full Version]
E4 Analogue Rock [Original Mix]
E5 Pause [Original Mix]
E6 French Disco [Early Version Mix]
F7 Jenny Ondioline Part 2 [Breakdown Mix]
F8 Fruition - Demo
F9 I'm Going Out Of My Way - Demo
F10 French Disco - Demo
F11 Lock Groove Lullaby - Demo
F12 Jenny Ondioline - Demo
F13 Pause - Demo

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions