The Pro-teens I Flip My Life Every Time I Fly Mr Bongo

Regular price $51.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Within Melbourne's burgeoning cinematic-soul scene, which includes breakout acts Surprise Chef and Karate Boogaloo, mysteriously sit The Pro-Teens. Helmed by prolific drummer and percussionist Hudson Whitlock, who also plays in both bands, this breakaway studio project involves an interchangeable collective of incognito, Melbourne-based, esteemed instrumentalists playing under outlandish pseudonyms such as "'Dead Honest’ Dean Amazing" and "Libby Clique-Baite". Symbolically led by keyboardist "Snooch Dodd", new album ‘I Flip My Life Every Time I Fly’ is the latest musical concoction from Whitlock's eccentric brain, marrying the soul/funk roots of sample culture with the principles of boom-bap hip hop.Incorporating the colourful comic book stylings of MF DOOM and Kool Keith, or the dark and exotic flavours of Gravediggaz and The Wu-Tang ClanThe Pro-Teens also take cues from their composing heroes Galt MacDermot, Richard Evans and Marc Moulin. The Pro-Teens bop, zip, whip, and fling on this phantasmagorical journey - an unorthodox patchwork of cinematic soul, hip hop-guided funk breaks, vivid instrumental textures, and film score-esque moods. The Pro-Teens work on the same analogue recording model adopted by the tight-knit College Of Knowledge label, self-recorded and produced with the rag-tag crew of musicians putting tracks down live to tape in crammed attic studios and share house recording spaces.


  1. I Flip My Life Every Time I Fly
  2. No One Understands Me (I'm OG) 
  3. Spray It, Don't Say It
  4. Convo
  5. Peppery Weapons 
  6. Snooch Is Too Busy For This Shit
  7. The Pro-Teens Ruined My Life 
  8. Ya Gotta Love This City
  9. I Hate Turbulence 
  10. Greta Thunburg
  11. Elephant On The Wall 
  12. Slow Fast
Source Album