Tilman Robinson - Culturecide

Tilman Robinson - Culturecide

Regular price $57.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Tilman Robinson’s third album, CULTURECIDE, is an investigation of the anthropocene; a seven part lamentation for our chaotic world.

CULTURECIDE: “…processes that have usually been purposely introduced that result in the decline or demise of a culture, without necessarily resulting in the physical destruction of its bearers.” (D. Stein, Routledge 2003)

CULTURECIDE is a rich sonic collage, harvesting sounds from a range sources including field recordings, medical machines that monitor the human body, traditional instruments and synthesisers, often melted electronically. The result is an unsettling paradox with sounds constantly on the edge of recognition. Each piece references a specific socio-political issue ranging from colonialism to neo-liberalism to climate change to the impending singularity of humans and machines. Far from answering these questions, CULTURECIDE invites us to meditate on their place in our life and achieve personal understanding.

Recorded and produced almost completely in Australia, a land at the forefront of the devastation of climate change, CULTURECIDE is an attempt at catharsis for its author frequently appalled at his country’s incredible apathy and inaction. Mixed by Bedroom Community regular Daniel Rejmer and mastered by Lawrence English, works from the ambitious and unsettling record saw Tilman nominated for the 2019 Melbourne Prize for Music.

Tilman Robinson is an Australian composer and sound designer creating electro-acoustic music across a range of genres including classical minimalism, improvised, experimental, electronic and ambient. Tilman’s diverse output focuses on the psychological impact of dense sound, employing acousmatic and psychoacoustic principles. His third album CULTURECIDE will be released on Iceland’s Bedroom Community label in April 2020.

1. Clathrate Gun
2. We Came For Your Riches
3. Bartholomew, Glowing
4. Teach Me To Destroy You
5. Proxy War
6. The Word for World is Forest
7. Hayek's Legacy
Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions