Washington, Kamasi - The Epic

Washington, Kamasi - The Epic

Regular price $99.50
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

A brazen release from young Los Angeles jazz giant, composer and bandleader Kamasi WashingtonThe Epic is unlike anything jazz has seen and not just because it emanates from the boundary-defying BrainfeederThe Epic is a 172 minute, three volume set (across three CDs or LPs) that includes a 32-piece orchestra, a 20-person choir and 17 songs overlaid with a compositional score written by Washington. Pulsing underneath is an otherworldly ten-piece band, each member of which is individually regarded as among the best young musicians on the planet, including bassist Thundercat and his brother, drummer Ronald Bruner Jr. Recommended if you like Flying Lotus, John Coltrane, Fela Kuti. Flying Lotus has featured Washington on his albums Cosmogramma and You're Dead! and he also plays on the new Kendrick Lamar album To Pimp A Butterfly. 3LP - 3 x black 180 Gram 12"s in artworked 3mm spined sleeves all housed in a rigid board outer slipcase. Half speed cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering. MP3 download code enclosed. Includes 2 x 12" poster inserts featuring exclusive artwork by KC Woolf Haxton and story adaptation and calligraphy by Kenturah Davis.


Volume 1 - The Plan
1. Change Of The Guard 
2. Askim 
3. Isabelle
4. Final Thought 
5. The Next Step 
6. The Rhythm Changes
Volume 2 - The Glorious Tale
1. Miss Understanding
2. Leroy And Lanisha 
3. Re Run 
4. Seven Prayers 
5. Henrietta Our Hero 
6. The Magnificent 7 
Volume 3 - The Historic Repetition
1. Re Run Home 
2. Cherokee 
3. Clair De Lune 
4. Malcolm's Theme 
5. The Message 

Source Album

Our Other Vinyl Subscriptions